Voxel or Multiple Heightmaps?

Home Forum Development Engine Development Discussion Voxel or Multiple Heightmaps?

This topic contains 15 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Momoko_Fan 2 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Guedez
    0p

After some years i got the motivation to start a project again. And i have ran into a serious issue that needs to be addressed before even starting. Should i use multiple heightmaps one on top of the other? or Voxels?

While Heightmaps are already implemented in JME3. Voxels seens to be the awnser for all my needs, however not only there is not much about it implemented in JME3(i think at least), and i don’t want my game to look like another minecraft clone.

Making a voxel engine is almost out of the question for me, the little i know about voxels tells me that i need to know LOTS of crazy mathmagic to make it work good, and altough im confident in my knologe as a java developer, i know very little about math and geometry, a lot less than i should(won’t be able to address this lack of knowloge anytime soon).

So, any tips or sugestions?

More info related to the problem:

The Idea of the game:
    Something like The Unreal World or Dwarf Fortress Adventurer Mode.
    Single Player Only.

What i WANT it to have.

– Water that flows realisticaly enough, something in the line of coluns of liquid.
    – Caves/Caverns, being able to make one, explore/modify one, making tunnels, tunnels with water for large scale ships to come thru mountains if you have the patience to make them.
    – – Those must collapse if there is not enough support.
    – Modificable terrain, being able to rise and romove mountains/islands/anything if you have the patience.
    – – Erosion would be very nice to have, as walls of dirt are simply retarded

Thx for the help!

tralala
    32p
    Participant

Then you need voxels or minecraft thingy.

Erlend Sogge Heggen
    510p
    Keymaster