April (2014) Monthly WIP Screenshot Thread

This is my first screenshot here. In fact, this is the first game really intend to finish. Even though the game might be old, I think it’s still fun and definitely a great startup project for a first game. I’m not new to programming though, I have a bachelor in computer science, and I’ve been working as a java developer for six years now. My little brother is learning blender, as he’ll be studying 3d animations next autumn. Any feedback (and critism!) will be greatly appreciated! :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Nice. Reminds me of today’s Maximumble: http://maximumble.thebookofbiff.com/2014/04/01/821-fit/ :slight_smile:

I have been playing around with the FX Builder from tonegod for lighting up my dungeons a bit. This is a still image based on 50 particles of flames from a 4x4 flames sprite sheet. It looks quite convincing. So now I have one point less to worry:

Thanx for tonegod for sharing this fx builder. It makes creating new effects (nearly) a no brainer…

11 Likes

Working on a 3D press spacebar to slash crap. The player model will be ready next week but got some npcs and trees:

5 Likes

Working on relative paths handling in Nifty-Editor :

4 Likes

Implemented Voronoi noise on the GPU and wrote a procedural crater algorithm…Here are some shots of them on a martian planet:

deep with broad rims:

deep with no rims:

shallow with no rims:

13 Likes
@okelly4408 said: Implemented Voronoi noise on the GPU and wrote a procedural crater algorithm...Here are some shots of them on a martian planet:

Wow. Very pretty. You should write something more detailed up sometime if you feel generous. :slight_smile:

@pspeed said: Wow. Very pretty. You should write something more detailed up sometime if you feel generous. :)
Oh yea definitely; I love talking about it. Just on the craters or the whole thing in general?
@okelly4408 said: Oh yea definitely; I love talking about it. Just on the craters or the whole thing in general?