Game Engine Advice

I’m sure people ask this all the time, and I’m sure I know the answer given the website I’m on, but can anyone please let me know if I’m in the right place or not.

I’m a Java Developer and I would like to build a top-down 3D city simulation game. I want to focus on the population and have each individual make decisions as they go about their lives, so I can see this being a very CPU intensive game.

I want to be able to interact with objects in a very OO driven style, as I would if I was developing any other Java Application. I want to be able to detect distances for decision making. I’m okay with updating positions for movement and dealing with pathing. What I don’t want is to be bogged down with visuals by having to deal with polygons and vertices. I just want to plop down objects, interact with them programatically, and be able to deal with animation as states.

From what I’ve read and the couple tutorials I’ve done, it seems like JME3 is a good engine for me. Is there a reason I should look into some of the other engines like Unity or UE4? Or anything else?

Thank you so much for being a positive contributor to the JME3 community by taking the time to answer my questions. :stuck_out_tongue:

hmmmm…“convince me to use jME3”? Well jME3 wont do this for you, it’ll help you with some things, like Audio, Rendering Pipeline, Effects and many others things. There is no magic, jME3 will do what you ask it for. Think in jME3 as a beautiful assistant that will be with you in your journey.

Why you wont need to deal with polygons and vertices if everything on a game is made of?

I think you misunderstood me.

I don’t want you to convince me to use JME3, I simply understand that different game engines have different strengths and want to know if I interpreted the strengths of JME3 correctly.