setUserData() vs. Controls: Which is best practice?

I’m new to jMonkey (loving it 100% so far) and going through as many tutorials and guides as I can find on the Internet. As I’m learning, I’m trying to wrap my head around jMonkey’s design and how I should design my games to complement the way jMonkey does things. Now I’m at my first impasse.

Here’s how I understand it:

• setUserData() allows an infinite number of variables to be set on one particular Spatial.
  • Controls define data and behaviors that can be replicated across many Spatials.
  • AppStates define a set of data and behaviors that are overarching to all Spatials in the scene.

I understand the difference between AppStates and Controls, but I’m having a hard time seeing why anyone would ever use setUserData() when they could just create a Control instead? Are there any use cases where setUserData() is actually preferred?

The controls contains code that is relative to the specific spatial they are applied to, for example if you have a jump pad you could have a JumpPadControl that makes the player jump when he touch it or if you have a windmill, WindmillControl could contains the code that makes the blades move.

The userdata contain variables like Health Armor etc… of the specific spatial.

AppStates are just a fancy way to subdivide the code for example

• MenuAppState: will show the main menu
  • GameAppState: will start the game
  • FPSAppState: will show the first person hud and will bind w, a, s, d for walk and space for jump
  • VehicleAppState: will show the vehicle hud and will bind w for accelerate, s for decelerate, a and d for left right and space for brake

Also, by looking at the code, you can only store primitives in .setUserData();

No, you are reading the wrong code…

[...]
public void setUserData(String key, Object data) {
    if (userData == null) {
        userData = new HashMap<String, Savable>();
    }

if(data == null){
        userData.remove(key);