2D Polygon

Im quite new to jME (to 3d actually in general) and what i want to do is to create a map out of tiles. Like a Risk map. Every country would be a tile and every tile could have an arbitrary shape. I want to be able to create a country based on solely x,y coordinates. The height will be something standard, 0.0f or 1.0f.

What i want is something like a Quad, but then for any arbitrary 2d polygon shape. Im wondering whether this is already possible or not. I can maybe write my own class for this, inheriting from the TriMesh class. I imagine it wont be the easiest job to start off with in jME though. I do not want to create the map in Blender or something. I want to be able to load it from, for example, a SVG file.

I want to do this in a 3D environment, because i want to put 3D objects on the 2D tiles.

So, is this already there? I couldnt find it anywhere.  :?

I'm not sure, if I understood this question,

but arent the TestTerrain… classes what you need?

Your terrain you can generate with a heightmap, ther are some tools for creating such stuff.

And you should search for all has to do with terrain in this Forum

Im not aiming to create a terrain. Im trying to build a playing board.

I am pretty sure that there is a triangulation utility somewhere in jME. You'll most probably find it when looking into the Font3D related classes. You should be able to start from there.

You can have a quad represent each tile. Triangulating an SVG file sounds like an overkill, you may want to consider converting it to a texture instead? You could use parallax mapping to make the texture appear to have depth.