3d Paint in JME3?

Hey all complete noob here, throw me a link if this has been covered.

Can you do real-time 3D painting on models with JME3? I saw some very old (3-4 years ago) threads on painting on terrain, but they referred to tests that I’m sure pre-dates JME3 (at least I did not see them in the current alpha). Similar question what about the application of decals?

What I’m thinking of is something for virtual miniatures/table top gaming and I would like for the users to be able to customize their minis by painting directly on them and/or applying decals and textures dynamically.

My past game development stuff has been on a completely different environment (Dark Basic Pro) and I’m looking for a new environment so I can get back up to speed on Java programming again.

TAZ

It is possible, but you’ll have to know what you’re doing to accomplish this. There’s no “built-in” solution that you can just take and use.

In short, you cast a ray from the mouse to the scene and find the barycentric coordinates of the collided triangle + the tri index, you fetch the UV coordinates of the mesh based on the triangle index and then you use the barycentric coordinates to interpolate along the UV to find the position on the texture that the user clicked. You can’t just paint in that area unfortunately as you might go onto other triangles that are not visible in the view, so you have to somehow “cull” the paint so it doesn’t appear on those triangles (this part I am unsure about).

I recommend looking into the Blender3D source code to find out how to do this, they have a “texture paint” feature that doesn’t have the issue I talked about.

Interesting, I had not thought about looking at the Blender source for inspiration.