3d sokoban

Hi, I am a beginner, I am planning to develop a 3D sokoban game, I don’t know how to build a map for sokoban. Can anyone share some experience to me. Thank you!

I’ve not created a sokoban, but I do have some general advice about developing games with jMonkeyEngine:

1. If you don’t have any Java programming experience, get some before installing JMonkeyEngine.
  2. Work through the jMonkeyEngine tutorials before trying to create anything.
  3. Implement an abstract version of the game (boxes, walls, goals, and avatar) before creating any textures, scene-graph controls, 3-D models, or other visualization. You might start with ASCII graphics and console input, for instance. This discipline will help you keep your game objects separate from your visualization and user-interface code.
2 Likes

And if you have no programming experience at all, you may want to start in the shallower end of the pool. I follow this guy on twitter and it seems like a nice approach:
https://gamkedo.com/

2 Likes

Hi, how to determine that the box has been pushed to the specified position? When I am building the ground, should I represent each grid with a model(box) and then put them together?

There are multiple approaches and it depends on how you implement the game logic. If you want it to be 3d realtime with physics, you’ll use collision listeners. If you want the movement locked to a grid you’ll wind up implementing your own “turn” based approach where you check positions at the end of each “turn”.
I suggest the “turn” based approach for newbies as you will learn more about how to handle game logic instead of learning how jme handles bullet physics, on top of still learning game logic. You can make either approach 3d in the end, but as sgold says keep everything abstract for as long as possible.

1 Like