A bit confused with JME

Hi, I'm a java programmer as a living and wanted to try some 3d programming just for fun.

I read a lot about all available java 3d engines. I really wanted to choose the best one overall. After reading several reviews about it, it seemed like JME was very stable, well documented with many examples and having the best active community.

I started right away and tryed right away to test it using netbeans. I didn't expect having so much troubles setting everything up for netbeans (along with javadoc). Only doc I found it was for a previous version of netbeans.

I'm wondering… why aren't they putting more effort in making plugins or extensions either for netbeans or eclipse?

Then I started testing with examples that were provided in JME2 package and noticed right away that many of them were outdated and wouldn't work with JME2. I also tryed to find more examples out on the web but each time there was no easy to know if that code was for JME1 or JME2.

I'm really confused about this. It seems like many users still use JME1 even if JME2 is stable and recommended, few use JME2 and JME3 is heavily under construction. I also heard that JME3 will be another branch of JME and won't be backward compatible (like JME1 and JME2 at the moment). I guess it's not a problem for those used to JME… but I think that it will confuse new users like me even more. Anyway, why should I start now with JME2 knowing that JME3 will be different?

I'm thinking about giving up and maybe switch to another engine… I've seen one using a simpler approach, but before I do that, I felt like writing in here how unconfortable I am with choosing JME.

Drask said:

Then I started testing with examples that were provided in JME2 package and noticed right away that many of them were outdated and wouldn't work with JME2. I also tryed to find more examples out on the web but each time there was no easy to know if that code was for JME1 or JME2.