A solid starting point: jME + FengGUI (with RenderPasses)

Let me first tell you that I'm relatively new to jME, and a junior java programmer. I've been browsing the tutorials, wiki, articles, these forums and I think I now have a decent understanding of what jME is and how it's structured. However, I'm still having trouble with finding 'the right tool for the job'.

What I mean is; there are a lot of choices to be made in order to write a game. Although I understand how everything works, I miss some feeling for what to use. Let me give you a real life example here:

I've got plans (like all of you) to build a game. Here's a list of what my game should be able to do:

• Preset the player with a login dialog (username/password) after the game starts

• A simple 3D environment (a Quad being the terrain and a Box being the player) after the login button was pressed.

• A chat window to see chat messages and enter new ones

The thing is, all the articles and tutorials I find take the most basic approach to illustrate what jME can do. But how do I approach this?

I've read that FengGUI is ideal for making the chatbox. But should I use a separate FengGUI game state or should I opt for the RenderPass solution?

I've been able to write a class that can create a lot of things (skybox, the terrain Quad, the player Box, handle input etc.). But is this a good approach? I don't think it's a very maintainable solution.

I think the current documentation available for jME is great at explaining what all bits and pieces do. But I'm missing a 'big picture' kind of tutorial. I would be happy to write it, but I just don't have enough experience and knowledge at the moment to do it. (If I get through my example successfully, I'll be happy to write an article about it).

So, my question to you jME'ers is: what would be a good way to construct my example project? (Or a larger project in general?) How have you constructed your games in the past or how would you do it in the future?