A texture (or audio?) memory leak?

Hey there, I’ve run into some trouble with a memory leak in my game.
I’m not an expert at tracking down leaks, but after hours of testing in jVisualVM i’ve noticed that a bunch of buffered images (and their costly integer arrays) linger in the game without any references that I’m aware of.

My game is tile-based and has a minimap, for which I generate a few dozen textures & geometries based on the level layout. (These levels are often randomly generated, so loading from disk is not an option) There’s a different texture for each room, and they are to be recolored at various points of the game. I’m sure there’s a more efficient way of doing it, but both loading times and overall performance have been great (I have a decade old PC) so I didn’t feel the need to combine them into one texture, especially since I have no experience with drawing onto a texture on the fly.

I’ve been drawing buffered images to create these textures and then converted them into a jme image, then created a 2D texture with it. (I’d be willing to look into drawing into a jme image directly sometime in the future)

After a session ends, I’ve made sure that all the relevant spatials are removed, the references cleared, and I’ve even tried disposing of the jme images in two ways, in case they somehow kept the bufferedimages alive:

1. The dispose function on the image, and
  2. The deleteImage function on the renderer. (I’ve also made sure to dispose of the graphics2D objects I used to draw into the bufferedImages)

Sadly, I’m out of ideas. Did I miss something? Do I need to somehow clear the texture2D objects that I create aswell?

Do you have memory issues / oom messages? The AssetManager caches the loaded data but also unloads it when new memory is needed and theres no references to the assets anymore.

Profilers can be very confusing if you don’t know how to use them or looking for a particular problem :slight_smile:

1 Like