Advice before I go much further with this

I have a series of vocalized sounds per character (there are other examples, however vocalized sound is a decent one for the following)… seeing as it is impossible (for most people) to say more than one thing at any given time, I started playing around with dumping all related clips into a single audio file and creating audio tasks that start at specific offset and run until a specific duration of time has elapsed.

It works… seems like it works fairly well… but, before I go to far with this. Is anyone else using this approach and how is it working out for ya? Any regrets? Any benefits you found from doing this?

Depending on the type of game you are making… audio seems as if it could get disorganized fairly quickly.

Anyways… Thanks in advance for any input.

The smae principle id used in the egosoft games (the x ones at least http://www.egosoft.com/games/x_rebirth/info_en.php) All of them have 1-x large audio files with spechparts.

However I would go one extra step, store the vocals as single files, and make a audiobatcher tool, that batcehs all togehter and writes the offsets into a propertiesfile/hashmap. In game never specify the offset, but only the name and lookup the offsets.

This prevents the need to reorganise everything if a file gets replaced with a slightly longer one ect

1 Like

Note that this can’t work with streamed audio though, because using an offset is broken in the lib we’re using (ogg vorbis).
So i guess having a very big audio file as Empire suggested would be a problem.
We really suck at audio…

<cite>@nehon said:</cite> We really suck at audio....

That was funny :stuck_out_tongue: