Advice on using a custom mesh for a gamingboard

Hi, I’m new to 3D (but have done my fair share of 2d stuff) and this is my first post to this board :slight_smile:

I am in the planning and evaluation phase on how to create my board environment and would like to get some feedback about my choices. I picked this subform as my thoughts mainly care about graphics.

What do I want to achieve?

• Something like this in real time 3d for a turn based game:
  • Such a game board would be randomly generated and have dimensions of up to 50x50 tiles with ~15 different terrains (this should simply be not a technical limit)
  • Elevation shall be represented in elevated hex prisms. (I’ve seen Maker’s Tale and am deeply impressed with it!) and will be watched from a standard “top down at an angle” perspective (probably rotatable and titable for the heck of it)
  • I need good/pleasing highlighting of selected tiles, a group of tiles and whole regions.
  • solid fps on my Intel HD Graphics 4000

What did I learn already?

• I learned about custom meshes and created my own Hexagon and Hexagon-Prism meshes
  • Of course I went the dumbest route first and learned that creating 50x50 distinct geometries having 15 different textures puts my reference spec clearly under 60fps because of the object bottleneck I now know of :slight_smile:
  • I then learned about GeometryBatchFactory.optimize, which greatly improves performance but undid my simple picking detection (I just took the first geometry from the collision results). Frame rate is mostly stable at 60 with pssm shadows, 2 directional lights and everything at CastAndReceive.

What am I about to do?

1. I should create the whole board as a single mesh and assign texture coordinates in a way that will use a plain color for the vertical faces and a corresponding part of the texture map for the hexagonal faces (as my hex map is still a 2d grid this allows for easy coordinate translations)