AirportSim

Hi everybody,

since I probably will be asking plenty of questions in the future, I thought it might as well make sense to properly introduce myself and my project to the community.

I’ve been programming for more than 10 years now, although self-taught and predominantly in the web-world. These are my first (serious) steps into the “3D world” and I’m more than happy that - with jMonkey - a potent engine exists for Java, taking one stumbling block out of my path. Anyhow, I’m a bloody beginner when it comes to anything 3D-tech-related, be it shaders, shadows or lights, but I hereby want to assure you, that I will always use Google before asking stupid questions on the forums and I want apologize in advance for any cases where I missed an existing explanation due to lack of proper vocabulary. I will also happily add my findings to the wiki/documentation when I find it appropriate (it probably will be a while until I’m anywhere near to being able to contribute code).

But a few words about the project: The game is supposed to be a “3D airport simulation” (think “Rollercoaster Tycoon”, just with an airport). As of now it’s merely a hobby and the focus does not (yet) lie on graphics but on the mechanics of the simulation. This is one of the reasons why I decided to use JMonkey instead of something like Unity: While the latter probably offers better graphics “out of the box” and offers more features, it ties you to a proprietary toolset, requires you to learn a lot of Unity-specific stuff and if something doesn’t work as you expect it to, your screwed without insights into how the engine does its magic. I really like the fact that JMonkey is - essentially - plain old Java and that you’re developing away using your accustomed toolset within minutes.

Here’s a short video of a very early (but also recent) build featuring the basic construction of taxiways (using custom meshes):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_0m-umeTrc