Alternate terrain/world editor

(I am new here)

I am studying java programming (almost a year) and trying to develop a
game using jMonkey. I have tried Unity before but since I only know
Java I decided to go with jMonkey.

My problem is that the terrain/world edit in jMonkey is buggy. When I
make changes to the terrain I sometimes can not save. Many others seem
to have the same problem too.

I’m using jMonkey 3 and why do they have a serious bug like that now? like it was beta version or something…

I would also prefere drag n drog exactly like Unity have, but jMonkey doesn’t seem to have that.

Is there any other way I can create the terrain/world (with drag n
drop like Unity) and then import into jMonkey? What are the
alternatives?

I’ve used the terrain editor just a couple of times but I’ve never experienced those kinds of bugs, which os do you use?

What do you mean? In jme you can build scenes with the visual editor but you have always to write some code.

You could build it directly in blender (with the sculpt mode for example) and then import it in jme, but you must be careful to keep the amount of polygons low. Also, if you plan to build a big terrain you should subdivide it in chunks and build a lod system that doesn’t make holes between chunks (see geomipmapping).

With the built-in library (which is the one used by the terrain editor inside the ide but that you can also use from the code) all those things are automatically managed.

Hello! Thanks for answer!

I am using windows 8.1 x64. I searched for the problem but no one actually seemed to have any solution.

With drag and drop I’m referring to draging objects like a house, tree or anything and just drop in into the scene. But I guess I will survive anyway x).