Animated model from 3ds max to jme need help!

please help me import an animated model from 3ds max to jme … i am very new to jme as well as 3d modeling a step by step would be really appreciated …

i am using 3ds max 2012

and javamonkeyplatform alpha 4

Hello!

The way I do exporting from 3Ds Max and Maya is with the plugin OgreMax Scene Exporter.

When installed you’ll see a new scroll-down menu at the top called OgreMax.

There you’ll have to setup a few things… that I can’t remember at the moment, and since I am not home at my computer I can’t look them up.

I’ll post the steps necessary when I get home in less than an hour. Until then, you can download and install the non-commersial version of OgreMax Scene Exporter (if you haven’t already).

1 Like

i installed the non commercial version of OgreMaxScene Exporter thanks for the advice but i cant seem to get it working right for all my models … can you please mention me the necessary steps or run me through the required settings … i know i might be asking really stupid questions but i am really new with all this . Thanks

Hey, sorry for the late answer.

Ok, now to OgreMax, I haven’t actually tested it inside JMP, but I believe it should work!

In every 3D-project you create, you have to go into the OgreMax → Scene Settings… and then in the tab called “Meshes”, unmark “Export Binary Files”, and mark the “Export XML Files” instead. The is because you have to have Ogres XML files to convert them in JMP.

I would also recommend marking the “Copy Bitmaps to Export Directory” in the “Materials” tab, if you don’t want to copy all the texture files manually.

When you have created an animation you select the objects that are animated and go to OgreMax → Object Settings…

In the “Node Animations” tab you click the Add…-button, name the animation (like walk or such).

Select what frames the animation is between.

Select if the animation is looped or not (walk is looped while attack may be not).