Attaching a Ray to a physicsVehicleNode

I'm having a problem where I can't figure out how to use Jme3 to attach a Ray to a Vehicle.  Basically I'm trying to make a "sensor" stuck on the front of the TestPhysicsCar.java  car.  I tried adding code directly from the TestRayCollision.java example but I can't attach anything but a Geometry or Spacial to the PhysicsVehicleNode.

I added this just after the last wheel was added in TestPhysicsCar.java:

Ray ray = new Ray(Vector3f.ZERO, Vector3f.UNIT_X);

player.attachChild(ray);            //throw error because you can't pass a Ray here

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm rather new to this stuff, so I may be missing something very basic. Please bear with me.

I think the GhostNode will be much easier to implement and much faster to execute. I like the idea of just using the ghostNode to detect a collision, then figuring out where it is.

What about having a stack of sequentially smaller cylinders would better approximate a cone shape? 

I also tried replacing the box with a cylinder in the TestGhostObjec.java example on the June 28th build and I'm getting problems…

I can do this:

Cylinder boxGeom =  new Cylinder();

but I get errors  in the "        Geometry ghostGeom = new Geometry("ghostVisual", boxGeom);" line (since the cylinder has no dimensions.)

When I try to give dimensions to the Cylinder when I create it, like this:

Cylinder(int axisSamples, int radialSamples, float radius, float height)  <-- from JME3 javadoc

Cylinder boxGeom =  new Cylinder( 6, 18, 5f, 10f);

it says the following:

Cannot find symbol

Symbol "constructor Cylinder(int,int,float,float)

If I try to specifically add the Cylinder library (import com.jme3.scene.shape.Cylinder;), it says:

"com.bulletpgysics.demos.applet.Cylinder is already defined in a single-type import."

This also doesn't change anything.

Is this a problem with JME3 or is it again a misunderstanding on my part?

I think you have a wrong opinion of how to use rays.