Basic Shadow Renderer - Issues / Questions

Hey everybody, I’m new to these forums. I’ve been using JME3 for a few months now, and I’m really enjoying it. However, I’ve hit a minor cosmetic issue with my game, and I was hoping somebody on these forums could help explain it to me.

For my game, I’ve created a modified material for the particle generator that allows for non-greyscale images to be used for particles; it makes use of a normal alpha channel in a given picture for transparency in the particles, rather than using the color black. I’ve had to do this because my game involves driving a car through things like trash cans and mailboxes, and I’m using the particle generator to simulate junk flying out of each object when the player hits it.

Anyway, this modified material works completely fine until it has to affect and be affected by the basic shadow renderer. It’s sort of hard to describe, but the rectangle enclosing each particle on the screen will “block out” any shadows that need to be rendered behind it, regardless of whether or not there are any non-transparent pixels there. I’ve attached a picture to better demonstrate what I’m taking about - this is during the game, midway through the effect of crashing into a trash can (and I’ve drawn a red rectangle around one of the particles that I think most clearly demonstrates the issue - it blocks out the shadows that would normally be rendered behind it).

Here is the code I’m using to set up the basic shadow renderer.

bsr = new BasicShadowRenderer(assetManager, 256);
bsr.setDirection(new Vector3f(0, -1, 0).normalizeLocal());
viewPort.addProcessor(bsr);

After this, all game objects (including the particle generators) are set to receive shadows only.

Now, for the modified particle material I'm using, I will confess that I know next to nothing about material definitions for JME3, so I felt like I was groping in the dark while constructing this:

MaterialDef Point Sprite {

MaterialParameters {