Best 3d tool (Blender, Wings3d, SketchUp)

What 3d modeling tool should i use with jME? I know that is a very broad question… Basically it should fit these criteria:

1. Free or low cost That is why i mentioned Blender Wings3d and SketchUp… But I'm open to other suggestions
  2. Easy to learn
  3. Easy to import into a jME project.

Also, any other info I need to know about the tools and incorporating them into a jME project are welcome!!

I would say Blender is really probably going to be your best shot and I believe there is a Collada exporter available for it as well.

Really?

I used blender…2 years ago (maybe more)…

I have always heard good things about blender, but I was under the impression it had a steep learning curve…

Is that true? Anything else I should know about Blender and how in will interact with jME?

I'm not really an expert on Blender or modeling for that matter, but it's is commonly used around here, has a large following, it's free, and can export Collada…that's about it. :wink:

Did anyone ever succesfully export a COLLADA from blender to jME though?

Sketchup uses COLLADA as it's native format I believe… but it's much more limited in what you can actually create.

Does that mean SketchUp is slightly better for importing just due to the fact it has been imported successfully?

What about Wings3d? Isn't that what the Maggie demo used?

• I have used blender and the illusoft collada exporter ( http://colladablender.illusoft.com/ ) to export from blender to jME lately. It worked.

(The following Information can be found in various threads in this forum, I just repeat it here for convenience)
  • Should collada fail for you, you could still fall back to the jME xml exporter ( http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/jmeforum/index.php?topic=1439.0 ).