Blender animation woes

Hi all,

I am totally new to JMonkey and am trying to import a simple animated test model into it from Blender 2.57.

I am using Blender2Ogre 0.3.6 and I believe some people have had success with this to some extent. Ideally I want to use Blender 2.57 rather than revert to 2.49b as I wish to use some of the newer features and also I am used to the 2.5 interface so going back to 2.49b will bring unwelcome confusion.

So far I have been able to export my model to .xml format and import it into JMonkey and covert it to the binary format. When I import into JMonkey it picks up the material and skeleton files automatically and no errors are reported so I assume it is OK. I am able to preview the model in the JMonkey platform scene composer the name of my test animation is selectable from the “Animation Control” dropdown.

When I select the animation control corresponding to the track the model should animate but does not. I have downloaded and tested the otto test model and that works perfectly leading me to think that either a) My models animation is incorrectly rigged/set up in blender. b) The exporter isn’t working, c) it is working but I am not using it properly.

Does anybody have any guidelines for setting up animation in Blender 2.57 for use with JMonkey or a working test model they would be willing to let me have a look at to check my configuration?

Any help with this is greatly appreciated!

Normally I get around model issues by exporting as a .fbx to Ultimate Unrwap 3D pro and then re-exporting to the required format for whatever engine I am using but unfortunaly the ogre exporter for Ultimate Unwrap doesnt seem to work as JMonkey says it cannot import the resulting mesh.

Many thanks

EvilNoodle

I’m having a similar problem with the model I made in Blender 2.57, and exported with the Blender2Ogre 0.3.6.

The conversion to .j3o seems to work. Texture works. Skeleton appears to have imported.