Blender is killing me

Okay, for the past 1 month, I took the time to learn blender. I could replicate some good animations from tutorials. But the only reason I want to learn blender is to use it in jmonkey. And this is when it started getting really really painful. The nitty gritties in blender are too overwhelming. Can someone guide me to some good video tutorials for using blender with jmonkey. Something targeted for complete beginners like me.

1 Like

I’m still learning blender too. It his guy knows his eggs.

1 Like

I’m a complete noob at 3d modeling, but I found this channel VscopianC that explains a lot of stuff real slowly and repeats a lot, kinda like for complete dummies. I found it ideal for learning the basics of Blender if you have no previous 3d modeling experience.

1 Like

Here’s is the original goto guy for free blender learning.
http://web.archive.org/web/20170430192403/https://trunk.tufts.edu/access/content/group/b78b4dc7-3d98-419d-befd-54d3e7eaa174/Public%20Blender%20Resources/

https://vimeo.com/nhirsig/videos/sort:alphabetical/format:thumbnail

Some of it is dated material but its not to hard to figure out what to do. His Rocket Steam Locomotive pdf is very fun.

2 Likes

What in particular are you interested in learning? Modelling objects/people/levels, UV unwrapping, skeleton animation or everything?

Blender can be very frustrating to learn but it’s an incredible tool when you do.

1 Like

If you go to 15 minutes in this video there’s a good example using blender to make and import a model into the into the engine. jME SDK Usecase Demo 2 - YouTube

This tutorial page is also a good reference for making all the details of a blender model compatible in JME https://jmonkeyengine.github.io/wiki/jme3/external/blender.html