Blender obj import and the infamous white material

I'm having a bear of a time with import.  I am a noob to JME and an almost noob to Blender.  I have been going through the JME tuts and trying to learn this beast known as JME.  He seems like quite the warrior if not a tad difficult to get one's head around.

I created an impressive cube in Blender.  Really, it is!  And I have the cube a material of a red color.  No UV…I just set it to "red".

I then exported out as an obj from Blender.  I get an .obj and a .mtl after export. Cool!  When I load it up in my app (extended off of SimpleGame) I get the cube but it's looking all white on me.  I want it to be red as I set it in Blender. A red cube looks so much tougher!

I searched around the forums and I noticed lighting seems to be an issue for whiteness at times.  But I assumed (please correct me if I am in error) that SimpleGame kind of takes care of that in a .uhhhh… simple way?

I assume I am doing something extremely stupid.  So I'd appreciate someone pointing out just how stupid I am (with a solution, of course). :slight_smile:

Thank you in advance to any kind soul that can scoot me along in my learning.

Here are my files.

cube.obj

# Blender3D v244 OBJ File: cube.blend
# www.blender3d.org
mtllib cube.mtl
o Cube
v 1.000000 -1.000000 -1.000000
v 1.000000 -1.000000 1.000000
v -1.000000 -1.000000 1.000000
v -1.000000 -1.000000 -1.000000
v 1.000000 1.000000 -1.000000
v 0.999999 1.000000 1.000001
v -1.000000 1.000000 1.000000
v -1.000000 1.000000 -1.000000
vn -0.000000 -0.000000 1.000000
vn 1.000000 0.000000 0.000000
vn 0.000000 0.000000 -1.000000
vn 0.000001 -0.000000 -1.000000
vn -1.000000 0.000000 -0.000000
vn -1.000000 -0.000000 -0.000001
vn -0.000000 -1.000000 0.000000
vn 0.000000 1.000000 -0.000000
g Cube_Cube_RED
usemtl RED
s 1
f 4//1 1//1 8//1
f 1//1 5//1 8//1
f 3//2 4//2 8//2
f 3//2 8//2 7//2
f 2//3 3//3 6//3
f 3//4 7//4 6//4
f 1//5 2//5 5//5
f 2//6 6//6 5//6
f 5//7 6//7 7//7
f 5//7 7//7 8//7