Blog post: A new approach to managing jMonkeyEngine

http://blog.erlend.sh/a-new-approach-to-managing-my-personal-projects-read-jmonkeyengine/

tl;dr: I’m gonna be making dedicated topics to the following topics soon:

Making friends with companies

jMonkeyEngine might not become my livelihood in the foreseeable future, but for many others it can be. For some it already is. I need to come up with more incentives for companies to get in touch with us.

Paying for things

This is risky business, but I’ve had some experience with it now, and I think I can make it work. jME has received generous donations in days past that we don’t even know what to do with, so we just sat on it. This isn’t good. All this time we essentially had a budget for taking small risks, but we hardly took any of them! That’s gonna change now.

Now that I’m working full time I’ll also be spending my own money on some jME micro-projects.

Streamlined path-to-first-contribution

When someone wants to contribute to jME the path to making that first contribution is not crystal clear. We do an OK job of onboarding contributors, but we can do a whole lot better.

p.s. thanks to @rickard for asking some questions and sharing some thoughts that helped me collect my thoughts.

6 Likes

I’m not sure I agree with this. I think the path is pretty clear to those qualified to take it.

A proper contribution to an open source project is hard. It needs to satisfy a bunch of constraints that a personal project doesn’t. I don’t think we’ve made it any harder than it needs to be.

Core changes deserve a LOT of scrutiny. In fact, sometimes we let things in that never should have made it already. I just reverted one recently… but the scrutiny is what leads to a quality core.