Broadcast filters

Hello, I am trying to learn Jmonkey and started looking at SpiderMonkey (cool!).
I tend to learn better when I try to achieve something , so I started coding a generic Chat service class that could be embedded in games.
The idea is to allow any game based in JME to be able to add chat functionality simply by including this class (you never know, it might even turn out useful in the end :slight_smile: )

Basic concepts of the server are :

1. It can instantiate a new Server.object (on its own port etc) or use an existing open Server
  2. It can use default message handlers or you can install your own message handlers
  3. It manages channels and user subscription to them

I am not using the Server channel functionality because a) I did not really understand how it works and b) I fear it would not fit my needs.
What I am trying to achieve is to have 2 different kind of channels :

1. (With positive ids) managed by subscription, meaning you have a list of users who will receive the message
  2. (With negative ids) managed programmatically, meaning you pass a Filter handler and your game logic will decide who should receive the msg. This could be i.e. a Team channel, Vehicle channel, Proximity etc

So, now I am dealing with broadcast / Fitlers and I am a bit lost.
In the example of a subscription channel, I have a HashMap like this :

private HashMap<Integer,Collection<Integer>> subscriptions;

The key is the channel Id, and the value is a Collection with all the ids of the HostedConnections subscribed (I might need to turn it into a HostedConnection Collection in the end, maybe).

The point where I am stuck : how do I use that collection to filter the broadcast?

server.broadcast(Filters.in(<mycollectionsomehow>,:my message");

?

Also, I am using HashMaps (non thread safe) instead of Hastables (thread safe), I may revert back to Hashtables, but I am not sure how thread-messy it can get INSIDE the chat server (objects are not accessed from outside)