[BUG]Terrain editor deleting vertices when smoothing

Hi!

I am new to game programming, and am using jME 3 nightly build, and I noticed a bug in the terrain editor 3.0.0.9588.

When I was smoothing out the edges of my terrain, the terrain editor started eating away the vertices from the map. I wasn’t able to undo it, and from my testing it happened every single time, when I had smoothing tool selected, and the edge of my terrain was at 0. You can easily produce this bug by creating flat terrain and smoothing out the edge of the terrain.

After it starts to eat these vertices away, it will erase them regardless of the height in which it started.

Since pictures probably explain more than what I could do with words, here is pictures of what happened:

Before smoothing the edge of the terrain:

http://i.imgur.com/MtZ0F.jpg

After smoothing the edge of the terrain:

http://i.imgur.com/Fr7vm.jpg

THIS BUG IS FROM 2012?!!

Forgive me my shouting, but a terrain tool that starts deleting the terrain is kind of a significant bug, isn’t it?
Or does it only happen on his and my machine?

The problem is just as he described: The smoothing tool cannot be used at the edges.
Even worse: You cant undo this. So if you have edited your terrain for quite a while and didn’t save for 10 minutes…

Do you already know of this issue?
I hope it’s just a simple wrong line of code somewhere.

Ah, btw, I have images as well - a simple flat terrain:

Before:

After:

When you take a look at it in wireframe mode, you can clearly see that those faces are not black, but missing.
If you save the scene and open it again, the bug remains.

I’ll take a look at what is causing it. The smooth tool just modifies the height, so I’m not sure why those vertices are missing.

1 Like
@Sploreg said: I'll take a look at what is causing it. The smooth tool just modifies the height, so I'm not sure why those vertices are missing.

Thank you very much.