Can TerraMonkey do this......?

Hey Guys,

I am a new and up’n’coming Game Developer. I have read about the TerrainGrid’s ability to Generate Terrain infinitely. I was wondering if there was a way during the way I could randomly generate the terrain, If so how would I do it? I also was wondering if during the generation of the Height Map could I also use it to generate where the textures would go (For example for Height Map Values 255 to 245 use Snowy Rock, for Values of 244 to 120 use rocky, for values 120 to 50 use Grassy, from 50 to 0 use sand.)? Then based off of the Height Map could I adjust the mesh in the TerrainPatch so I could place things that I want (For example, that there was an area on the Height map that was in a range that is favorable for a placement of a Quarry mesh, could I adjust the Underlying Mesh and lower it, then on top of it place the Quarry Mesh on top.)?

I am not a novice Java Programmer, I have a few years behind me. I have finished all the Hello… tutorials. I am always willing to learn something new, I only look for a person who is willing to teach me. I don’t want you to give me code, but steps would be nice.

Thanks for taking the time out of your day to read this.

Yep that is all possible and there are some examples in jme that do this already.

Check out TerrainFractalGridTest.java. It generates the terrain “randomly” (ie each tile will be different, but if you re-generated it each tile will be as it was the last time since it used the same seed value). It also uses the HeightBasedTerrain.j3md material that textures based on the height of the terrain.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

Hey,