Can we expect JOGL as an "official" render option in JME?

I’m evaluating JME for production use and require multi-windowed support. At the moment, AwtPanel does not provide adequate performance to be considered as an option. I’ve been monitoring the forums for a few months and have not seen much discussion with regards to JOGL use in JME. It was mentioned that JOGL may replace LWJGL in 3.1. Is this still the case? I can get the current 3.0 to work with JOGL but it appears that this practice is discouraged. What is the future of JOGL in JME?

Are there any other options in JME for gaining multi-context support?

The official maintainer for jME3’s JOGL backend, @gouessej is no longer here.
Given that JOGL support is almost broken in the current jME3.1, it is very likely to be removed (especially since it is taking a lot of space in each installer package).

Does multi-windowed mean using AWT / Swing and having an embedded jME panel or just sepearate standalone jME3 windows?

Having jME embedded into a Swing application, either as a Canvas or Panel (any AWT component really). I need to have a main JFrame that displays a jME scene (main app) and then a floating dialog spawned from the main app that shows a different scene. At the moment JOGL is the only working renderer in jME that allows multiple contexts (the AwtPanel’s off-screen rendering solution has poor fps in my tests).

Another problem with the AWTPanel is that the FilterPostProcessor with a Bloom filter throughs an exception and is broken if it is used. I am also looking to a multi-windows solution.

Maybe it’s time to have a look at LWJGL3? It supports multiple windows using GLFW (including hidden off-screen windows). Although it doesn’t have any official AWT/JavaFX support components yet, people have already been able to create AWT and JavaFX applications by simply draw everything to an hidden GFLW window and copying its contents over to a AWT or JavaFX image.