Cant get a spatial's AnimControl

First off, G’day! I’m new to JME, with all of about 3 days experience. That experience isn’t without problems however, hence why I’m here.

I’ve been playing around with the concepts in the first couple of tutorials. I’ve sucessfully created a cube, created a textured cube, imported a model from blender, imported a textured model from blender… so on and so forth. Then I thought I’d try my hand at getting some animation, but have had no luck.

I created a quick test model in blender, gave it an armature, and a single animation. I put the .blend in my Project Assets folder, and have been working straight off the .blend (no conversion to .j3o).

I can load and view the model with no problems. But for some reason, I can not get the AnimControl from the spatial (using Spatial.getControl(AnimControl.class)). The method returns null, and obviously any subsequent method called on the non-existent control results in a NullPointerException. Furthermore, calling getNumControls() on the Spatial returns 0. The strange thing is, I have no problems viewing the animation in the SceneExplorer. The AnimControl exists, and it does what its supposed to (making me think there is nothing wrong with the model or animation itself???).

I thought it might be a problem with working out of the .blend, so tried to convert it to .j3o, but trying to load the .j3o results in an exception too…

I’ve really got no idea whats going on, and feel like a complete nuffty. As such, are you guys able to please shed some light on the situation? It would be greatly appreciated. I’ll attach the code and errors to this post.

Im running jMP Alpha-4, with the latest nightlies (as @ a couple of hours ago). Its probably obvious in the following code, but “zzz” is the Spatial and “doStuff” is the animation.

Here’s the main class:

[java] public class Main extends SimpleApplication {

AnimControl control;

AnimChannel channel;

Spatial zzz;