Capture Live Video

I wrote some code that lets you capture live video with a perfect, constant framerate.

It involved adding a class called IsoTimer which extends Timer,

and adding setTimer and getTimer methods to Application.

I also added a class called VideoProcessor which extends SceneProcessor

and implements the actual video encoding using Xuggle.

All the details, as well as some sample videos, are here:

Capture Live Video Feeds from JMonkeyEngine

I’m new to jMonkeyEngine so please let me know what you think!

sincerely,

–Robert McIntyre

6 Likes

here’s an example video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIJt9aRGusc

Well it looks better than enything I was able to get with Fraps:)

How does it behave is the jme application itself is kinda cpu/gpu heavy and it will not reach the desired framerates?

I’ll take a look at this later

EmpirePhoenix said:
Well it looks better than enything I was able to get with Fraps:)

as an alternative u can try afterburner from msi, video and screenshot capture and GPU monitoring as bonus :roll:
EmpirePhoenix said:
How does it behave is the jme application itself is kinda cpu/gpu heavy and it will not reach the desired framerates?

The application will take its time to calculate every frame and step the physics world exactly (1/fps) seconds each time, so no matter how cpu/gpu heavy the application is, the video will be what you would see if you were running screen capturing software on a computer which could run the application at full fps.

How could I get this added to JME3? If the dependency on Xuggle is a deal breaker, it may be possible to use (painfully) JMF to do the same thing.

Well I was askin, because o a client server system the server will not slow down, guess I will just test how good it works for me and post a video

Dude, that’s epic!!!

That’s brilliant work, congrats.