Car Wars Style Game... Looking for people to join

This project aims to create a Car Wars game based on the Steve Jackson game… This is not intended to be a commercial product but rather a learning tool for my journey through jMonkey…

I have always been a big fan of Car Wars and always wondered why there isn’t a real computer version out there… Some have tired but has been a total disaster… And games like Dark Wind don’t really capture Car Wars the way it is meant to be…

I have many years of professional programming experience in almost every language out there and have gaming experience in the 2D world… How ever I am relatively new to 3D gaming… I have explored many game engines out there and have settled for jMonkey to do my project in…

Currently doing the early design work and setting up a website and wiki and I am looking for people to join me in this effort… If you are a programmer or 3D artist or have something to offer, then lets join forces here… I do have a full time job so this will be a side project that I will work on in my spare time…

My overall goal here is to build something in the long run that can be commercially viable but that’s a long time form now and not the focus of this effort… I am really trying to master creating a 3D game…

Edster,

Cool, sounds fun… Have you thought about working on this as an entry in the game contest? Those work in progress threads have been getting lots of great feedback :slight_smile:

I doubt that I will have anything ready by December 31st, 2011 (deadline) I can try but as I said I am in the early stages of learning jMonkey… If I make a very simple adaptation of Car Wars then maybe…

maybe one of developers who have similar avatar will join :stuck_out_tongue:

seriously: if it can be open source then entry game contest as sbook mentioned :slight_smile:

@oxplay2 said:
maybe one of developers who have similar avatar will join :p

I agree :D.