Character controllers and collisions

I’m new to jMonkey and I’m trying to get basic movement and collision up and running, but I’m not sure of the best strategy. What I want is a character controller that will take some movement vector each frame and follow it, colliding with solid geometry (and other controllers, e.g. enemies). I want to make a 3D platformer, with no physics simulation necessary and all jumping, falling, sliding, moving platforms etc. fine tuned in code, without being handled by the physics engine. Ideally it would be nice if the controller I picked could handle changes in gravity direction as well (think Ratchet & Clank gravboots or Mario Galaxy), but I could live without it. As far as I can tell, there are a few possibilities (please feel free to correct me on any of the assumptions/beliefs stated below):

• BetterCharacterControl:
    Pros: Collides properly, goes up slopes, can probably be easily extended to remove all of the unwanted features (the relatively simplistic grounded check, the way gravity is handled, the ducking mechanic etc.)
    Cons: Has lots of unnecessary features / features I’d want to replace, doesn’t have a built-in system to ignore steep slopes, tends to “fly off” the top of slopes and generally behaves more as a physical object and less as a Mario-esque platform character. Also can’t collide with other BetterCharacterControls (I think?)

• PhysicsCharacter:
    Pros: Quite simple, just provides the basics for movement and handles collisions properly, also seems to handle slopes and steps nicely.
    Cons: Would probably want to replace the gravity and jump handling to fit my purposes.

• Using a dynamic RigidbodyControl, using setAngularFactor(0):
    Pros: Collides properly and goes up slopes, can be pushed by objects, preventing the need to implement a custom pushing mechanism.