Cinematics ( CutScenes ) and Dialogs

Hi everyone ,

i found some very old topics in here about Cutscene , but never found anything about dialogs…

I’m a newbie on JME , practicing a lot since 1 week , and i have the goal to do a little 3D RPG.

I really wish to know is anyone found anything about doing CutScenes in games ?

I was thinking about using a lot of viewport with forcing the camera doing things , but i’m really not sure so i guess i need advices.

And what about Dialogs ?

I wish to have a story and character who are talking , i would need some help to do that since i didn’t found anything about it.

Thanks a lot in advance !

Danath

You can use a combination of CameraNode and AnimationPath to make the camera move, although both are very new additions. Complete “Cinematics” is not really implemented although the basics are mostly there and theres also interest from the developers side to get something going in that direction.

I tried to use Camera Node but it seems it’s not yet implemented on JME3 , or am i missing something here ? I’m sorry that’s my first time on this IDE i wish i could have some help ^^.

I was thinking that maybe i could use coordinates of the character to start the cut scene that i could implement in the updategame class

By the way , i’m still in need about text dialogs please ^^

CameraNode is in jME3, but not alpha2. You need to either use jMP or get the nightly builds to use it.

Is there a way to install nightly builds ? i didn’t find tutos for that…

BTW for the text dialogs , i was thinking about using Nifty gui and a XML file , am i on the good way ?

Yeah you can use nifty

Here is a link to nightly builds http://jmonkeyengine.com/nightly/ (Download/Nightly in the forum menu)

Look at the TestAnimationPath and TestCameraAnimationPath for an example of how to handle spatial and camera movement with animation path.

I’m gonna make a post and a wiki page to explain this new feature.