City/Level editor

I’ve been looking around for days for an editor to use as a city/level builder but to no avail. I’ve found GhostTown (ghostTown Lite | ScriptSpot) which looks pretty neat, but is it possible to use the city in JME3 as your game level?

What other options are there for building city’s, indoor levels or anything other than terrain type levels? Are there any documentation/tutorials for doing something like this?

If it’s a 3dsmax scene you can import it in the engine using the ogre pipeline (see OgreMax tool on ogre website)

Also @methusalah created a procedural city generator with jME3, maybe it could be of interest for you.

see that post http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/groups/user-code-projects/forum/topic/procedural-city-generator/

Iam currently trying to create my first level too. Ive read somewhere that i should use Blender to create the whole scene and than load it. So I started learning that freaking huge tool :smiley:

Is that what you mean with “3dsmax scene”? Or do i bark up the wrong tree?

I’m also still very unsure and lost as how to go about creating a level. A city level was just an idea i have, but it seems it would be more advanced than i thought.

If i wanted to create a small level, lets say for arguments sake, 6 houses, 3 houses facing each other with a two way street separating them, what would the process be?

1. Create each mesh (House, ground with street, trees, etc) separately and add it to JMP, and then texture and place them in JMP, forming the scene.

OR

2. Create each mesh (House, ground with street, trees, etc) separately and then put the scene together in blender, and then import into JME.

OR

3. Create the whole scene in blender and then export to JME.

OR

4. Use some other tool/level editor.

OR

5. None of the above… lol.

Please shed some light.

The short answer is: it depends on your game.