Confused about StandardGame

Hello everybody.  This is my first post on jME forums, but I have been playing around with the engine for about 2 years and I love what I’ve seen so far.

After reading the wiki articles about StandardGame, I decided I wanted to convert to it from my SimpleGame.  I pretty much copied the structure of the example on the wiki page.

However, I noticed that instead of extending your main class, you use separate classes (StandardGame and <whatever>GameState), which blocks all my StandardGames and GameStates from using my main class variables (like the mouse, the game logic objects, etc).

So my questions are:

Is it possible (and efficient) to write my main class as an extension of StandardGame?

and if so, why does the example on the wiki not extend StandardGame?

Thanks for the answers.  I’m just a little confused as to where everything should go (updates, inputs, etc) without creating a child of the game type.

frog will get really mad if u extend standardGame haha  :smiley:

u should put all the things u need inside a game class that doesnt have to extend standardGame. some sort of manager class.

There are many ways to handle this and StandardGame was converted to be "final" so that people wouldn't mistakenly try to extend it.  As neakor says, it was not intended to be extended, but instantiated and used. Anything that would otherwise be stored in your Game should be put in a GameState or elsewhere.

Thanks for the help so far.

I'm still a little confused as to where my code should go.  Right now my main class looks somewhat like the wiki example:

/**
Global variables here, including most of the UI components and the game logic classes.
*/
public static void main(String[] args) throws Exception
   {
   game=new StandardGame("GameName");
   GameSettingsPanel.prompt(game.getSettings());
   game.start();
   DebugGameState state = new DebugGameState();
      //do stuff with global variables
   display=game.getDisplay();