Content creation app and Widget development

Howdy,

I’ve started designing the first phase of a content creation app.

I would like to call it jME Studio (JS) if there are no objections.

JS will start out as a modeler with the goal of evolving into a full blown game content creation system.

I am writing requirements, use cases, etc., pretty much going through a full blown development process for creating it. I’m doing this because it appears that my day job is going to require it of me and I need to get some experience doing it. I also believe that if properly applied, a software development process can make a huge difference in the overall quality of a system.

JS needs a rich UI to accomplish what I want it to do and jME provides a robust architecture and strong foundation on which to build JS, thus my motivation for creating a GUI for jME.

I have decided to let the development of JS drive the development of Widgets for the jME GUI. Widget development for JS will also set the priority for which Widgets I work on first. So far, I expect all of the requested Widgets to eventually show up in JS and be available to jME developers. It just takes time to build them.

I need to work on JS to stay motivated. Developing a GUI in and of itself doesn’t do it for me. I will be happy to advise anyone who wants to try developing their own Widget.

Also, I have a question, should JS be part of the jME project or should I make it a project of its own? I’m fine doing it either way and I don’t want to presume either way. Does anyone have an opinion?

Thanks,

Gregg

Hi Gregg,

That sounds pretty exciting and very cool. I have no objection with the name, in fact you could do something cool to use the logo as well. Say a wireframe version of the monkey. Something to tie the app with the API. :slight_smile: