Converting an isometric game to jme and would like pointers

Hi, I have been developing an isometric game for some years now as a hobby in Delphi but recently taught myself Java in order to convert it. So far I am extremely impressed with Java and have picked it up without any problems. I was making some progress converting when I finally started coming across a lot of the limitations of the 2D aspects of the game (which I previously just skipped over) and decided to convert to 3D. JME seems really amazing having looked at the demos and played with some of the sample code from starter.pdf.

I have never done 3D programming before and only played a little with milkshape and gmax. So, hopefully a few questions I have can be answered by more experienced people:

1. The game is vaguely similar to Civilization (identical in a graphics sense and infact currently uses most of the graphics from freeciv) so I was wondering if its a big task to create a kind of tile based game in 3D that closely mimics what is currently being done in isometirc 2.5D?

2. I was good at geometry at school but thats a while ago now and what I have retained I could write on the back of a postage stamp XD. Is the maths I will need extremely difficult? Apart from vectors which I noticed reading these boards, what other areas should I brush-up on?

3. I have looked at the terrain demos but these seem to be dealing with terrain for first person type games so am I correct in assuming this stuff will not be of much use to me?