Converting c++ lookup tables to java

Hello, i am currently trying to implement the Transvoxel algortithm to java.
Since i have no deeper experience with c# or c++ i currently don’t know whats the best practice to convert a lookup table something similar in java.

This is the lookup table
https://github.com/qwertzui11/voxel-Terrain/blob/master/blub/procedural/voxelMap/transVoxel.hpp

First think which comes into my mind is to create a HashMap for each of the entries. But in generall. what would you do?

1 Like

HashMap i would do, at least its (nearly) constant time. And if thats to slow i would look further.

I would probably just use the array data structures that they already have. They are definitely constant time and will have slightly less overhead than a HashMap.

…it will also make the algorithm easier to port.

Yeah, i used also standart array’s. Took a bit to figue out why there are no constructors in the c++ lookups. This pointer and direct memory stuff i kind of hard to port for me :frowning:

You mean how it uses this stuff to set the bytes directly instead of a constructor?
{0x62, {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5}}

C++ programmers often prefer to type a few characters less and sacrifice all kinds of safety.

Yeah that was the first issue. The bigger problem currently is that i don’t get why/how the algorithm does the stuff he is supposed to to. I find it always particularly hard to follow binary operation. Since i am not able to do it i have to go trough the code with with a paper and pen in my hand and do all the binary calculations by hand.

Things like:

[java]
byte directionMask = (byte) ((position.x > 0 ? 1 : 0) | ((position.z > 0 ? 1 : 0) < 0 ? 1 : 0) <> 8);
byte reuseIndex = (byte) (edge & 0xF); //Vertex id which should be created or reused 1,2 or 3
byte rDir = (byte) (edge >> 4); //the direction to go to reach a previous cell for reusing
byte v1 = (byte) ((vertexLocations[i]) & 0x0F); //Second Corner Index