Correct use of Controls/Appstates

Hi,

I’ve now spend some time wrapping my head around controls and appstates

In my experience every framework, no matter if aimed at game-development or roboter-programming, has a unique way to solve problems. If you’ve come up with an architecture that aligns to principles of the framework you’ll be rewarded with high productivity and ease of use. I’m new to jme and haven’t discovered the right approach yet. I intended to structure my project as follows:

data in special classes

logic in controls

general state in appstate.

This may appear obvious and redundant but I’ve followed these ideas in a first draft of my project. Then implementing a few of the design decisions I realized that all the built in functions are meant to be used with Spatials or Geometries. Sure conversions and polymorphism would solve this problem but I found myself doing the same typecasts over and over again. Accessing data from a custom class requires a lot of work. Classes that inherit from Spatial or Geometry are rarely efficient. You have to write many methods to pass around the right references. On the other hand getting a specific control is more than comfortable. Its reference is easily available. Therefore I decided to redesign the architecture:

data and logic in controls

general state in appstate

All objects are stored in standard nodes, spatials and geometries

To do this the entire game is initialized in simpleInitApp and references to the rootNode, cam, and other objects are passed to each control and the one custom appstate I consider necessary. Each control and the appstate are now storing all information they need. The whole application is split into nodegraph and behaviours. The behaviours enable and disable each other according to user input and appstate.

I know this question is very abstract and hard to answer without reading code but just in general:

Is this the right way ?

What would you recommend ?