Creating a Player Node

Hello I am trying to make my player’s position relative to the node I attached it to.

Example: If I have a ship, then I would want to attach the player node to the ship so that the player moves with it.

The problem is I don’t know how to create a player node, CharacterControl can’t be attached to a node.

I hope you understand my question and are willing to help.

PS: I am pretty new to jME.

The problem is I don’t know how to create a player node.

[java]
Node playerNode = new Node("Player Node");
shipNode.attachChild(playerNode);
[/java]

:)

CharacterControl can’t be attached to a node.

Yes, it can :)

[java]
playerNode.addControl(myCharacterControl);
[/java]
@glaucomardano said:
[java]
Node playerNode = new Node("Player Node");
shipNode.attachChild(playerNode);
[/java]

:)

Yes, it can :)

[java]
playerNode.addControl(myCharacterControl);
[/java]

I think I tried that before but it didn't work.
Well, so can you tell me if I do that, when the shipNode moves will my playerNode move too?

Thanks

EDIT: Yep, I tried exactly that but the player seemed to be not affected by being attached to floor node :(
It was like it wasn't attached

I promise you that child nodes move when attached to parents. Do you have anything attached to this so-called “Player Node”?

Yeah, children move with their parents. It’s entirely the point.

If you see a child that isn’t moving with its parent then that parent isn’t really its parent anymore. You’ve attached it to something else (a spatial can only have one parent after all).

@pspeed said:
Yeah, children move with their parents. It's entirely the point.

If you see a child that isn't moving with its parent then that parent isn't really its parent anymore. You've attached it to something else (a spatial can only have one parent after all).

@sbook said:
I promise you that child nodes move when attached to parents. Do you have anything attached to this so-called "Player Node"?