Different ways to texture a terrain?

Hi again,

I played a bit with TerrainBlock and ProceduralTextureGenerator to generate and texture a terrain.

The problem I encountered is that as far as I understand there's only a single large texture generated for the whole terrain - however when building large terrains this gives either horrible memory footprint / vram useage or very low texture details.

Can the TerrainBlock be textured using more than a single large texture - I could imagine that there are several different textures like "ice" and "grass" and the terrain is textured using these small textures many times.

I am happy about any feedback. I am a totally newbie so if my question is plain stupid, please don't be angry :wink:

Thank you in advance, lg Clemens

jME can of course blend different textures together real time as well. There's already a demo somewhere in jME that does this on a TerrainBlock too. However there's not yet any framework that'll make blend maps etc.

recent related topic: http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/jmeforum/index.php?topic=3422.0

I do hope to eventually have this in my own terrain engine for jME.

jME Terra

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/jmeforum/index.php?topic=3098.0

It's still under heavy development though.

Thanks a lot, llama :slight_smile:

Your terrain engine looks really promising, are you still working on it? To be honest I don't need terrains to be that large - however it seems your solutions is still a lot better than the TerrainBlock stuff already in jME.

Thx for the hint about texturing terrainBlock on the fly, I'll have a look.

Thanks, lg Clemens

I am still working at it, but the pace can get slow. There's some contributions from others waiting too, including one much related to what you want to do. I'm still waiting for those myself though :slight_smile: