Does TextureRenderer create the Image of a Texture?

I'm new to JME and trying to create a TextureCubeMap from 6 textures I've rendered with the TextureRenderer. However, when I try to combine the images of each texture to create the cubemap I get a nullpointer exception, since all the Textures' Images are null, at least whenever I check them. Does the TextureRenderer create the Image for each Texture at some point or am I missing how it works? (The Textures do appear correctly when I apply them to spatials, I just can't seem to get to their Image)

Thanks in advance for any help.

If anyone has any idea I would really appreciate the information (even a simple yes or no). I'm utterly stuck and have tried everything I can think of to make sure that the texture is rendered, but I still can't seem to access the produced image.

It's not possible to do what you're trying to do with jME.

With pure OpenGL… it might be a different story but you will need video card with good (OpenGL3+) support.

It also depends, do you need this for real time or no?

I was worried I'd have to start messing with OpenGL directly :(. As for whether it needs to be real-time, I'd definitely prefer it, but since this project is due next week I'd settle for static images. Would I just need to take screenshots or export the textures for importing during the actual game's run?

PS - If this is impossible to do with JME, someone should probably remove the suggestion from the User's Guide here:

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=texturerenderer - at the point where it states that the TextureRenderer is very useful for creating CubeMaps for mirrors. Unless there is a way that doesn't involve directly programming in OpenGL?

It is possible to create mirrors with TextureRenderer, but it has nothing to do with cubemaps. Assuming the mirror is a plane that is.