Dynamic Texture generation

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to JME but so far it’s looking great for what I want.

Basically I’m needing to have a computer in my game, and i need to update the screen, so what I have done so far is make a box where the screen should go and set its texture to an image.

What I need to do is have some way to modify that image and in-turn the texture on the box dynamically, sort of like making a BufferedImage in Java2D and using .getGraphics() to get a canvas and then draw to it.

If you have another way I could accomplish this, or a way to make my idea work, I’d appreciate all the help I can get.

Cheers,
Lucas

Welcome to the community =)
I recommend you take a look at ImageRaster and the ImagePainter plugin which makes ImageRaster a bit friendlier to work with. With this you can paint on a texture.

This will be the easiest solution, but not the most performant since you have to send the new texture of the CPU<->GPU bus after every change.

1 Like
@kwando said:

This will be the easiest solution, but not the most performant since you have to send the new texture of the CPU<->GPU bus after every change.

Cheers for the reply,

I think this approach will work and even though it may be slow, I’m only updating every few seconds or so, so it should be fine :slight_smile:

Thanks heaps,
Lucas

Hi again,

So I tried to implement what kwando suggested like this:

[java] static Texture tex;

public static void initComputer(AssetManager assetManager, Node root, BulletAppState bas){

ImagePainter scr = new ImagePainter(Image.Format.RGBA8, 150, 150);
    scr.wipe(ColorRGBA.Black);
    scr.paintLine(1, 1, 99, 99, 1, ColorRGBA.Blue, ImagePainter.BlendMode.SET);

tex.setImage(scr.getImage());
}[/java]

But that doesn’t work. I’m getting a NullPointerException on the tex.setImage(); method, can anyone suggest what i am doing wrong?

Thanks for the help,
Lucas

tex is null. You’ve never set it to anything.