Error with mouseInput (from Tut) Post 7

Hello! I am new to jme, but not to java.

I am trying to learn how to use JME3 so I am following the beginner tutorials.

Currently I am on this one: https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:beginner:hello_asset

when I go to run the file, after the select Display settings, I get this warning and severe error message:

WARNING: Cannot locate resource: Models/Teapot/Teapot.obj

Oct 11, 2010 2:24:14 PM com.jme3.app.Application handleError

SEVERE: Uncaught exception thrown in Thread[LWJGL Renderer Thread,5,main]

java.lang.NullPointerException

at jme3test.helloworld.HelloAssets.simpleInitApp(HelloAssets.java:27)

at com.jme3.app.SimpleApplication.initialize(SimpleApplication.java:155)

at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.initInThread(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:102)

at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.run(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:147)

at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)

Now I just copied and pasted the code several times, I thought it might be the teapot thing, but I commented that out and both the warning and severe message appears. Can anyone help me with this issue?

Also, how can any models be located? I click on the + in Project Assets on the left. Then I click on the + on models, but this folder is completely empty and in fact every folder in the Project Assets is empty. Those folders must not be though because only the teapot model is missing…?

Thanks for any help!

The demo assets are included in the form of a jar file and can be added to the classpath of the project by going to the project properties and pressing “add library” and selecting jme3-test-data.

The assets folder of the project is also added to the distribution project as a jar file and its empty by default, this is where you add your assets.

Cheers,

Normen

normen said: