Few questions regarding setBitsPerPixel and setDepthBits

Hello, I am fairly new to JME and I must say that I love this engine :smiley: - so thanks!

The questions I have are in regard to setBitsPerPixel and setDepthBits in AppSettings.

Firstly, I am kind of confused as to what the difference between the two are.

When trying this code everything seems fine and the application starts normally
[java]
AppSettings settings = new AppSettings(true);
GraphicsDevice device = GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvironment().getDefaultScreenDevice();
DisplayMode mode = device.getDisplayMode();
settings.setBitsPerPixel(mode.getBitDepth());
setSettings(settings);
// start application
[/java]

But then using this code results in the following error: org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Insufficient depth buffer precision
[java]
AppSettings settings = new AppSettings(true);
GraphicsDevice device = GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvironment().getDefaultScreenDevice();
DisplayMode mode = device.getDisplayMode();
settings.setDepthBits(mode.getBitDepth());
setSettings(settings);
// start application
[/java]

Obviously I assume that they must not be the same, otherwise they would produce the same results when running, so what’s the difference?

Furthermore, another question I had was in regard to this page: https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:intermediate:appsettings

On that page it says this:

setBitsPerPixel(32) Set the color depth. 1 bpp = black and white, 2 bpp = gray, 4 bpp = 16 colors, 8 bpp = 256 colors, 24 or 32 bpp = "truecolor".

However, I tried setting setBitsPerPixel(1) in my application (just for fun to see if it would be in black and white) and nothing happens - does this only work if supported by the display?

So, to recap, my questions are:
1) What’s the difference between setBitsPerPixel and setDepthBits?
2) (related to #1) Why does my code setDepthBits(mode.getBitDepth()) throw an exception?