First Person Lighting

Hi there! I’m very new to jmonkey so this may be a simple question, but I have no idea how to provide the player (first person) with a flashlight to explore their environment.If anyone has an explanation, or some example code that would be really helpful!

I believe a SpotLight is what you’re looking for. See here. You can get a flashlight result by placing the light at

light.setLocation(playerNode.getWorldTranslation());

and make it point foreward with

light.setRotation(playerNode.getWorldRotation().getRotationColumn(2));

and run that in the update loop. Or something simmilar or completely different, depending on your setup.

:chimpanzee_facepalm:

I see this one so often. Don’t do it. It’s a bunch of work that just replicates the simpler and more intuitive:
light.setDirection(playerNode.getWorldRotation().mult(Vector3f.UNIT_Z));

…and if that’s for some reason not intuitive, it at least teaches something that should be intuitive.

1 Like

Well sorry if I thought that calling a method specifically made to give you that vector would be faster than applying a quaternion to a vector. Perhaps you should add a note in the docs: //Only exists because reasons, do not use.

Well, look at it this way… one approach (mult with an axis) is using the primary thing that Quaternions exist for. It’s the single most often called thing on all of quaternions by a huge long margin. It’s basically the only reason that quaternions exist in the engine in the first place.

Where as the other (getting the column of a rotation matrix) is a weird magic method that makes no sense unless you understand the deeper relationship between quaternion and matrix and that the third column in a rotation matrix happens to be the rotated Z-axis.