Fog - FogFilter in JME3

Hi people - I’m new to JME3 but have spent a lot of time (going back some years) with JME1 - I have a pretty complete game in JME1 and now am thinking about biting the bullet and migrating it into JME3. I’ve found lots of good stuff so far but also some holes - most recently: fog.

Fog needs to:

• not hide the Skybox
  • have a start (0%) and an end (100%) distance
  • use the same distance values as the rest of the engine
  • ideally use distance from camera, not from camera plane.

FogState in JME1 did the first three of these nicely. FogFilter in JME3 doesn’t do the first three (not sure about the fourth) so doesn’t seem very useful. Searching this forum there are lots of people asking about fog and various solutions posted over a number of years but it’s not clear if any of them are full working solutions eg this thread (from 2012):

I have tried the code and it solves the sky problem but doesn’t seem to solve the distance problem.

Or more recently this thread (from 2016):

Which closes with the advice ‘learn shaders and write your own’. I’d like to avoid doing that if at all possible.

I assume fog must be a common requirement (at least for anyone doing an outdoor game environment), so I’m hoping there is a full solution out there somewhere - I can’t believe JME3 lacks working fog, and I don’t want to re-invent the wheel. Many thanks if anyone can point me in the right direction.

1 Like

You will find snippets that you will be able to throw together but in the end it is almost a requirement to learn glsl. It is daunting but it’s actually quite a shallow curve for any intermediate. Its just math really. Stupid thing to say but there we go :stuck_out_tongue: but you will want to learn because my stuff might not be quite what you want, or work with your design. It is… inevitabru.

When i get on my PC ill paste a snippet if nobody has done already.