Force of Fire

Hey guys, as all of you that watch the forums know, I’m pretty new to the jME community, but I set a goal of writing a first-person shooter in jME using the new physics engine and I’m making some serious progress.  For your viewing pleasure see the following screenshots taken in game:

http://www.pyramex.com/ff/screenshot1.png

http://www.pyramex.com/ff/screenshot2.png

http://www.pyramex.com/ff/screenshot3.png

http://www.pyramex.com/ff/screenshot4.png

I still have several things left to do before the game is released:

• Finish the HUD
  • Enable mouse-look (having some problems with looking up and down because of the tie to the physics object)
  • Sound
  • Multiplayer support
  • GUI support
  • Auto-Update features
  • Installation and Setup utility

I will be posting another update when there is more to see and hopefully something to hear. :wink:

Thanks,

darkfrog

Hey, looks interesting!

Have you thought on maybe making it singleplayer? Keeping a physics world in sync over the network is a real pain in the butt :slight_smile:

Yeah, looks good!

I don't think that physics does make it harder to sync. I'm making a game with physics and multiplayer, too.

This does not mean it's easy to make an real time multiplayer game . . .  :expressionless:

Synchronizing the physics should just be a matter of the server telling the spatials' where they should be on the map and what forces should currently be applied to them, correct?

The reason I am not initially making this a single-player is because the AI component is something I have not taken the time to learn yet.  I definitely want to do that in the future, but this is my first game and I'm trying to keep it pretty simple (although multiplayer may be the most difficult aspect).