GameStates

I'm new to the jme scene and i'm trying to understand a few things.

I've read all these documents about the gamestates and it seems it's the best way to implement a complex multiplayer (not hotseat) game.

This seems to be the best explanation of the game states and standard game that i found:

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=some_standardgame_frequently_asked_questions

However I don't get some things:

1. All the gamestates run in the opengl thread. So where is the multithreading that is provided here?

2. If the above statement is wrong and each gamestate has it's own thread then would it be better if u create:
  • A gamestate for game graphics (low priority)
  • A gamestate for GUI graphics ( normal priority)
  • A gamestate for input devices (high priority)
  • A gamestate for networking (high priority)
  • A gamestate for game logic (high priority)
  • A gamestate for main menu (normal priority)

right? Is there a jme way of setting priorities?

1. Can a gamestate affect another gamestate graphics directly? For example having a gamestate with a lightsource will this lightsource affect Nodes in other gamestates?
  2. if i want some graphical features of the game that will only affect visually and might take a lot of processing. Should i put them in a gamestate and disable/enable it according to options or it's better to simply have an if statement for every feature in the update() of the same gamestate and skip the rendering?