General questions

I’m evaluating JME as an engine for a series of projects, and I have a few questions which, as the subject line implies, are general in nature. :slight_smile: I’m also rather new to Java development (though I have some familiarith with the language) so I hope I can toss one Java question in with the rest. :slight_smile:

First, the java question. I’m curious about game distribution–specifically, how does one typically package and distribute a game in a cross-platform manner? .NET seems to have the GAC, but I’m a bit vague on how to distribute a game that requires a series of jars. I can write a bash script to properly set CLASSPATH under OSX/unix, and I suppose a batch file for windows, but is there a better way? Is there an easy way to package everything into a single jar that includes all component jars? What about the code that requires native libraries? Can I toss all the natives into the same directory, or into the jar itself?

Ok, now onto the JME-specific questions. :slight_smile: My projects are a series of “audio games”–that is, the games are non-graphical, using audio to convey environmental conditions and actions to the player. The curious can visit <a href=“http://www.agdev.org/”>AGDev.org</a> for more specific examples. I do, however, have a few questions which I’d like to toss out about JME to determine if it meets my needs.

First, I’m curious about its audio support. According to the user’s guide, audio is handled hierarchically, is given a node, etc. I’m curious about how extensive this is? Also, can audio nodes have dimensions, too? I’m envisioning bits of terrain with attached sound–breaking waves where sand meets ocean, for instance. In that case, you wouldn’t necessarily want the breaking waves to originate from a single point, but instead from a region.