General Starter Questions

Sorry,am a total noob at JME and 3D stuff in general but slowly learning. 

Started my first jme game about 4 nights ago, a platform Super Mario type game for a JGO contest.  Have a few starter questions to get going.  Got til end of Month to complete… (Optimistic I know).  Really just using this as an excuse to get started with JME to move onto more advanced stuff.

If any1 can help on any of the below would appreciate it, have tried searching the forums + sample code but still a bit stuck…

1. Firstly, to move the character I am using cam.setLocation… Am not sure if this is the best/only way for movement… I cannot work out how to increase the speed  (I can of course just move the cam by greater intervals but this can make the animation a bit choppy).

2. Input… How do I disable the Mouse from working? And how can I use the cursor keys for movement… Am currently using KeyBindingManager, but when I try and use the cursor keys, it just uses JMEs default movement (works ok if I use non-default JME keys)…

3. For textures is there sample code/methods to import spritesheets?  And do I have to create a seperate TextureState for each texture, or can I use 1 TextureState for multiple textures.  I have loads of textures so want to simplify/optimize the whole process. 

4. Minor thing, on some (but not all) of my textures I get flashing horizontal/vertical lines when I move (see the black arrow in the image)… I have seen this before a few times (and in MWorld too)… I checked my images for transparency and am sure they are ok, anyideas what causes this.