Getting jME up and running

Hi there,

…my first post…

first of all you should know (but you’ll probably notice soon notice anyway) that I’m still rather new to java. I’ve never tried to develop a game before so I guess my view of things shouldn’t be taken to objectively. Yet. But what I’ve seen so far from jME has impressed me.

Now my problem:

I’ve tried to install jME by downloading the source code via CVS and compiled it with ANT on SuSE Linux 9.2. But now I don’t know what to do next. Where do I find the .jar(?) files? And can I use them on Windows, too? Or do I need to recompile them with ANT on Windows?

I can’t get my graphics card (Radeon 9700PRO) working on Linux in 3D mode, so I neen to transfer the files to Windows. On Windows I can’t get WinCVS or ANT working so I needed to do those proceses on Linux…

So what is the next step for me now?

(I’ve got LWJGL 0.94 installed and it works fine).

Thank’s in advance, Nark

Welcome :slight_smile:

But now I don't know what to do next.

Have you got an IDE (e.g. eclipse) up and running?

Where do I find the .jar(?) files?

jme.jar is outputted in the target directory of your cvs checkout.

And can I use them on Windows, too?

Yes, the jars are platform independant, but the native libs (the DLL's, SO's etc.) arn't.

I can't get my graphics card (Radeon 9700PRO) working on Linux in 3D mode

In case the online update didn't find the correct drivers, you can download them from http://www.ati.com/

Hope that helps.

My advise to you is, to install a current version of the eclipse IDE. Then

create a new project and copy the jME sources into the workspace of the project. Now set the classpath. Set also the LD_LIBRARY_PATH for the native lwjgl libraries. After this you should be able to run all the demos.